“ Halal ” is means legal or permitted. Over time more and more awareness is generated regarding benefits of halal food. Halal foods are foods that are permitted and encouraged by the Muslim Book — the Qur’an. Two aspects that generally affect whether or not a food is a halal include
- Foods that have been reused, created, or stored using outfit that has been sanctified under Islamic law.
- Foods that don’t contain any “ haram ” factors — haram is an Arabic term that means unlawful and unpermitted. Some exemplifications of haram foods and products include
- Alcoholic drinks
- Gelatine( banning fish gelatin)
- Non-halal beast fats
- Pork products( bacon, ham, etc)
Under Islamic law, eating is as much a system of deification as prayer; that’s why it’s so important for Muslims to consume and use halal foods and products. In order for a food to qualify as halal, the end of the beast’s life must be taken only in the name of God. The term “ bismillah ” — meaning “ in the name of God ” — must be spoken audibly before the bloodbath of any beast. creatures must be treated well previous to bloodbath, and must noway be in an uncomfortable position. The animal is to be killed snappily and with mercy. Meat that’s taken from an beast that wasn’t massacred in the name of God is haram, and shall not be consumed by Muslims. These days even non-muslims are inclined towards this concept and search for halal restaurants. A comprehensive list of restaurants offering halal food can be found here.